Author Topic: parameters to set for script to not cover full width of page  (Read 4596 times)

Offline hidden

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
parameters to set for script to not cover full width of page
« on: January 23, 2008, 10:46:17 PM »
http://www.bostonairinc.com/id2.htm

This shows my lighthouse covering all the way to the right. I would prefer that the lighthouse doesn't go over to and behind the circle as shown.

After changing some things I still didn't get the results. Certainly do admit that I don't fully understand all the script says.

Thanks

Arthur H

Offline hidden

  • Sami
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5924
  • Not a geek. Just a Nerd.
    • CSB Tutorials
Re: parameters to set for script to not cover full width of page
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 12:01:46 AM »
Your menu is has a higher priority when loading the page so your floating image is on a layer behind it.
You need to change the Z-INDEX on either the flash or the floating script.

In the flying image script,
Change this:
Code: [Select]
<DIV ID="flyimage1" STYLE="position:absolute; left: -250px; width:55; height:92;">to this:
Code: [Select]
  <DIV ID="flyimage1" STYLE="position:absolute; left: -250px; width:55; height:92; z-index: 1000">
and that should probably work for you.....
-Samantha
TNG: "Sometimes, you can make no mistakes, do everything right, and still lose" - Capt Picard to Data
(:turtle: In memory of Turtle: May 22, 1944 - Nov 24, 2007  GURU, mentor, and really nice guy! :turtleleft: )

Offline hidden

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: parameters to set for script to not cover full width of page
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 06:45:04 AM »
I changed the params in the script but it still doesn't work.
Should I change in Swish and what or how would I do that?
Thanks
Arthur H

Offline hidden

  • Sami
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5924
  • Not a geek. Just a Nerd.
    • CSB Tutorials
Re: parameters to set for script to not cover full width of page
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 10:04:40 AM »
I have used the z-index many times to adjust which is item is loaded last.  But it seems that you are not the only one to have this issue with floating images done in Javascript.

You need to remove the z-index I gave you before.  And put in two other things instead.  (I tested it on my side and it allowed your floating image to be seen on top of the flash.)

Code: [Select]
in between your <object> tag, ADD this line:
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />

in the embed tag ADD this phrase:
wmode="transparent"


So the modified part of your flash code would look like this:

Code: [Select]
  <param name="quality" value="high">
  <param name="bgcolor" value="#A6CAFO">
  <param name="wmode" value="transparent" />

  <embed name="testcircleeffects" src="id2_files/testcircleeffects.swf" quality="high"
bgcolor="#A6CAFO" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=Sh
ockwaveFlash" height="300" width="400" wmode="transparent">
-Samantha
TNG: "Sometimes, you can make no mistakes, do everything right, and still lose" - Capt Picard to Data
(:turtle: In memory of Turtle: May 22, 1944 - Nov 24, 2007  GURU, mentor, and really nice guy! :turtleleft: )