Author Topic: CSB4 Vista Home Premium-can't preview  (Read 7675 times)

Offline hidden

• ???
CSB4 Vista Home Premium-can't preview
« on: August 09, 2007, 09:08:52 AM »
I have been using CSB4 for a few years under Windows ME with no problems. Now have a new PC with Windows Vista Home Premium. I have downloaded CSB4 and reinstalled with my serial number. The problem that I am encountering is that a publishing preview saves the .html file in \appdata\local\temp  which windows denies read access to.  I have tried disabling UAC and have all permissions enabled that I can find but still no good.  By selecting Publish the same problem is encounterd Any ideas would be much appreciated. Thank you.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2008, 11:23:49 AM by Samrc »

Offline hidden

• Sami
  • Administrator
  • Not a geek. Just a Nerd.
    • CSB Tutorials
Re: CSB4 Vista Home Premium-can't preview
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 09:17:54 AM »
Windows VISTA... MS really did a number on people with that operating system. I
have not tried out VISTA yet with CSB so I can only coach from the sidelines based
on tech specs and other peoples responses.

Since you have the problem with PREVIEW function... My first best guess is that
you should assign a specific folder in your publishing settings:

Go into your my docs folder and make a folder to hold your web previews.  Call it
WEBPREVIEW if you want.

PUBLISH > OPTIONS > HTML DIRECTORY. 
  Check off box for SAVE COPY OF EXPORTED HTML LOCALLY.
  Use the BROWSE button  to go to the WEBPREVIEW folder, then in the second field
fill in a name of a folder to hold THIS website (if you have more than one website
this becomes very important!).
  Say Ok then try to PREVIEW the site.

This should cause CSB and WINDOWS to work together, avoiding the folder you were having access problems with.
  Don't try to publish until you have previewed once first.
  Then once you are successful, you can UNCHECK that LOCAL HTML BOX and publish.

========